Directory Opus and Quick Access Popup / Folders Popup working hand in hand

Share tools which are especially useful in combination with Opus.
User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
I'm the developer of Folders Popup. Since its first version, Folders Popup users asked for compatibility with Directory Opus. Version 2 of Folders Popup offered basic Directory Opus compatibility. But, since v3.2, Folders Popup is fully aware of DOpus capabilities and utilizes them via the internal DOpusRt.exe commands to offer seamless and reliable integration.

Image
Folders Popup Switch menu with Directory Opus integration

First things first...

For those new this freeware app, Folders Popup is a folder launcher (often described to Direct Folders replacement). It is compatible with Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1. In a few words, here is summary of FP features:

  • All your favorite folders, documents and web pages at your finger tip – press the middle mouse button (or press Windows-K) *over* a file dialog box, a DOpus lister or the desktop to popup your personalized favorites launcher.
  • If your mouse does not have a middle button, you can choose another trigger in the Options dialog box.
  • Hold the Shift key while pressing the mouse middle mouse button (or press Shift-Windows-K) to popup a new DOpus lister from any window.
  • The Special folders menu gives an easy access to Desktop, Document, Pictures, My Computer, Network Neighborhood, Control Panel and Recycle Bin.
  • The Recent folders menu lists the recent folders memorized by Windows.
  • Use the “Switch” menu to switch to any opened DOpus lister or file Explorer windows or open one of these folders in a dialog box.
  • Choose the Folders Popup Settings menu or press Shift-Windows-F to edit your favorites menu.
  • You can also add the folder currently displayed in a lister using the Add this Folder menu.

Directory Opus support

  • Automatic (but optional) enabling of DOpus support if the software is found on your system.
  • Seamlessly change a DOpus lister to a user folders, recent folders or special folders (My Computer, Network Neighborhood, Recycle Bin, etc.).
  • Easily add the folder currently displayed in a lister to you favorites with the Add this folder menu.
  • Switch to any with Directory Opus lister or Windows Explorer with the Switch Explorer menu.
  • Display DOpus icons for listers in the Switch Explorer menu.
  • The Switch in dialog box menu proposes to open any folder opened in Windows Explorer or listers in DOpus in the active file dialog box.
  • Adapted support for special folders in DOpus (like search result windows). But no support for FTP folders at this time (due to what seems to be a DOpus limitation).

How-to enable DOpus support

When you start it, Folders Popup checks if DOpus is installed on your computer (looking for the file [Program Files]\GPSoftware\Directory Opus\dopus.exe). If it is found, it asks if you wish to enable Directory Opus integration. If you answer Yes, it records the DOpus.exe file path in the Settings, Options dialog box:

Image
Directory Opus enabled in the Options dialog box

If DOpus is installed in another folder not found by Folders Popup, you can manually enable integration by browsing to your DOpus.exe file in the Options dialog box.

If you answered No to the start-up prompt, Folders Popup enters NO in the DOpus field in the Options dialog box. If you change your mind, you just have to browse to your DOpus.exe file to enable integration.

Image
Directory Opus disabled in the Options dialog box

Please, feel free to send questions or comments on Folders Popup web page or in this thread.
Last edited by jnllnd on 16 Feb 2016, 20:18, edited 1 time in total.
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

blogward
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 81
Joined: 08 Nov 2008, 10:38
OS: Windows XP 32-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
DPuP is kind of useful but takes over specific mouse functions I have set up elsewhere. How to remove it? Is it just a matter of deleting the .ini and exe files? Thanks.

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
Not sure about "DPuP"?

With Folders Popup, you assign different mouse buttons or hotkeys to trigger the popup menu (choose "Folders Popup Settings, Options". Also, you can left-click the tray icon and click "Exit FoldersPopup" to release the mouse buttons an hotkeys.

If you want to completely remove Folders popup from your system, all you have to do is to delete the .EXE and .INI file. No installation required... and no uninstall required :-)
Last edited by jnllnd on 22 Sep 2014, 08:56, edited 1 time in total.
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
tbone
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 2733
Joined: 13 Nov 2004, 21:12
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Latest Beta
Location: Germany
Are we allowed to have some general talk over here, or is this thread about actual issues with DO? o)

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
If you are refering to the admin's remark in the "Help & Support" section, I would say these restrictions would not apply to this forum section dedicated to "Sharing tools which are especially useful in combination with Opus."
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
leo
GPSoftware
Posts: 36498
Joined: 07 Nov 2004, 01:30
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 12
Location: London, UK
Contact:
Sure, feel free.

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
Since the last update of this thread, new features has been added to Folders Popup.

New in v4.2:
Hotkeys to manage favorites in Settings window
Multiple selection to manage a group of favorites in one step
More than 50 Special Folders favorites available
Universal File Managers Support with FPconnect
Select the menu position of new favorite in the Add Favorite window

New in v4 and 4.1:
New standard installation tool
Groups of folders
Custom favorite icons
Various additions or improvements

All these features work with Directory Opus. Also, FP is now available in English, French, German, Dutch, Korean, Swedish and Italian.

Power users (sysadmin, etc.) should appreciate the new Windows Special Folders support in v4.2. Here is a list of the 50 special folders that can now be inserted in the main popup menu or in any submenu:

  • Administrative Tools
  • Application Data
  • Backup and Restore
  • Cache
  • Common Application Data
  • Common Desktop
  • Common Start Menu
  • Common Startup Menu
  • Computer
  • Control Panel (All Tasks)
  • Control Panel (Icons view)
  • Cookies
  • Desktop
  • Documents
  • Downloads
  • Favorites
  • Favorites (Internet)
  • Flip 3D
  • Folder Options
  • Fonts
  • Games Explorer
  • History
  • HomeGroup
  • Libraries
  • My Music
  • My Video
  • Network
  • Network Connections
  • Performance Information and Tools
  • Pictures
  • Portable Devices
  • Printers and Faxes
  • Program Files
  • Program Files (x86)
  • Programs Folder (Start Menu)
  • Public Folder
  • Public Libraries
  • Quick Launch
  • Recent Items
  • Recent Places
  • Recycle Bin
  • Show Desktop
  • Start Menu
  • Startup
  • System
  • System Certificates
  • Templates
  • Temporary Files
  • User Folder
  • User Pinned
  • Windows

These special folders open in Directory Opus when supported, or in a WIndows Explorer window.

http://code.jeanlalonde.ca/folderspopup/
http://code.jeanlalonde.ca/using-folder ... tory-opus/
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
I should write a more complete post about this but just a word, for now, to let you know that Folders Popup has been completely rebuilt and is now distributed under the new name Quick Access Popup (QAP). QAP v7 offers the same compatibility with DOpus.

Major additions to QAP include: mouse or keyboard shortcuts for favorites, submenus and groups, switch to any active app window, reopen current folders in file dialog boxes (Open, Save As, ...). For DOpus users, the QAP Groups has been redesigned and now allow to select on which DOpus pane each folder part of a group will be open.

Of course, some QAP features are in duplication with DOpus features. But the possibility to open a folder in DOpus from any window, or to switch folder in a DOpus lister with a single middle-mouse click is still an interesting addition to DOpus.
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
jon
GPSoftware
Posts: 7412
Joined: 04 Nov 2004, 02:40
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Opus: Latest Beta
Location: Melbourne
Contact:
Congrats on the new version!

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
jon wrote:Congrats on the new version!


Coming from you, I'm flattered :-)
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
At Windows startup, if Quick Access Popup runs "DOpusRt.exe / info" (to get the list of listers, etc.) before DOpus has been launched, DOpus is launched and its window is restored in the state it had at shutdown.

Is there a way to run DOpusRt.exe without displaying DOpus main window if it is not running?
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
leo
GPSoftware
Posts: 36498
Joined: 07 Nov 2004, 01:30
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 12
Location: London, UK
Contact:
It probably makes sense to only run DOpusRT.exe /info if you detect dopus.exe is in the process list. If there's no dopus.exe then you can assume no windows/tabs are open.

We could change DOpusRT.exe /info to do the same, but then you'd need to check the version and do different things with old & new versions, and probably still need to have code to check for dopus.exe running, so it wouldn't gain much.

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
This makes sense. I'll check the process list. Thanks Leo.
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
First, to follow-up on the previous message, QAP now checks the list of running programs and do not launch DOpus inadvertently.

Also, I take the opportunity to confirm that QAP works perfectly with DOpus 12. After a full set of tests, no change to QAP were needed thanks to DOpus team's good work. Congrats for this excellent new release!

More info here:
http://www.quickaccesspopup.com/how-to- ... ess-popup/
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

xibalba
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 May 2015, 05:35
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 12
Second that. QAP and DOpus is a killer combo :-D No problems with DOpus 12 and QAP v.7.5.1. Thx to both the DOpus Team and the QAP-developer.

These tools make my workday a lot easier. :thumbsup:

-x

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
xibalba wrote:These tools make my workday a lot easier. :thumbsup:


Thaks for your good words, xibalba :-)
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
zekeblue
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Sep 2016, 08:54
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 12
Location: Alaska
Hi Jean..... Thanks for making a very helpful tool and working with DOpus for enhanced compatibility! I'm a very long-time DOpus user and only discovered QAP a few weeks ago.

I do have a request/suggestion.......

I have been using a similar utility for years, but it hasn't been updated since 2011 - Filebox eXtender. Only one thing that I don't see in QAP that I miss: a button on the title bar. Filebox eXtender uses the favorite folder icon like so:

Image


It has horiz/vert placement adjustments in options.

Just seems to fit my workflow better as, most often, I seem to be using mouse and don't have my hand on keyboard when wanting to access it.


Thanks for your consideration!

.
.
.....Zeke
.

User avatar
jnllnd
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 56
Joined: 08 Sep 2014, 18:57
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 11
Contact:
Hi zekeblue,

Thank you for your interest.

I never used Filebox but, as I understand it, it used a DLL file (Windows system file) that allows to "inject" features under the hood of Explorer windows or dialog boxes. Other popular products like DirectFolders do that. I don't want to use this approach in order to preserve portability, one of the appreciated qualities of Quick Access Popup. QAP is only calling standard Windows commands (using AutoHotkey). This makes QAP easier to maintain when Microsoft releases new Windows versions.

This also explains why FileBox or DirectoFolders became unstable when migrating from Windows XP and stopped being updated.

You may be interested into the product Actual File Folders (20 $) that seems to do what DirectFolders was doing. I never tried it however.
---
Author of Quick Access Popup working hand in hand with DOpus
http://resource.dopus.com/viewtopic.php ... 60#p141060

User avatar
zekeblue
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Sep 2016, 08:54
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 12
Location: Alaska
Thanks for the explanation. I understand completely.
.
.....Zeke
.

xibalba
Registered Opus Pro User
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 May 2015, 05:35
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Opus: Directory Opus 12
zekeblue wrote: I miss: a button on the title bar.
.


I had a similar problem, easy access to the QAP-menu with the mouse.

Solved it with ObjectDock (a commercial Dock/MenuBar thingy, there are probably others that do the same).

In ObjectDock You can create a toolbar with all/some/one of the icons from the System Tray.
I created one showing only the QAP-icon, and have it floating at the upper edge of my screen, showing only a tiny-tiny tab.
Screenshots of the the tiny tab, icon and menu
When the mouse is moved over the tab, it drops down showing the QAP-icon, and *click*, the menu is there. :D


I then have access to the QAP-menu no matter what program runs in the front.

Cheers
-x


Return to “Tools”